Crunchy Chia bites


Since the beginning of the year, I’ve been more dedicated to fitness and healthy eating so I’m always trying to find snacks that are quick and easy. My friend Krystal recently posted a recipe that I tried and even modified a bit to my own tasting. Now this is one of my favorite things to make because they are grab and go and I don’t feel deprived of sweets, they are really delicious.

I start with:
•1 cup of oats
•1/2 cup of peanut butter (I prefer crunchy pb, but any kind will work – even almond or cashew, I’m sure)
•1/4 cup of honey
•1 tbsp of Chia seeds or in this case I used 1/4 cup of crunchy flax with Chia because I couldn’t find the seeds and it worked out great
•A little splash of vanilla extract

Then I used:
•1/4 cup of coconut flakes
•1/4 cup of dried cranberries

Put a little coconut oil in your hands and mix the ingredients together and roll them up into balls, place them in an airtight container and put them in the fridge to set for about 30 minutes.

*Chocolate chips or raisins can be used instead of/in addition to these ingredients.

I love that I feel full after a couple of these tasty bites, especially when paired with an apple or banana. It’s the perfect healthy treat. Let me know if you try them.

wpid-2015-10-15-08.42.20.png.png

Thank you reading!

2015-11-09 13.55.50

 

Leave a Reply

