My 5 Favorite Beauty Products…of the drugstore variety

If you love to shop as much as I do, you know that things can get expensive pretty quick. I can’t always purchase the high end products that Ulta and Sephora carry, but there are ways to beautify on a budget.

Walmart, Target, CVS and Walgreens get a lot of my business and I have the reward cards on my keychain to prove it, especially for those products that I reach for everyday.

  1. Aussie Products Conditioner in Moist $4

Since I started my natural hair journey almost 2 years ago, I have found that the Aussie hair products make an amazing conditioner that is a definite part of my hair routine. Either the 3 minute miracle or ordinary conditioner (pictured below), which is anything but. Both have provided my hair with all of the moisture that my hair needs. I praised the product in a previous post and I’m sure I will again.

The slip from this conditioner is wonderful. By slip, I mean the ease of detangling my hair in the shower. Because of the slip, I’m not tearing my hair to get out any tangles. I also use this conditioner in any deep conditioning treatments that I use, it’s just that good. And at that affordable price, I keep buying it over and over.

2. Neutrogena Oil-Free Cleaning Wipes $5

These wipes (I prefer the pink grapefruit ones for acne-prone skin) are the first step in my skin care routine when taking off my makeup at night. Even though these are inexpensive as compared to other brands, before I bought this new pack, I tried an even cheaper brand. That brand took a lot more effort to get the makeup off and also left my skin and eyes with a burning sensation that I didn’t much appreciate.

So, here I am back to my tried and true and I’ll never stray again. These wipes get it all off, even my waterproof mascara and it’s gentle for my skin. Because it works so well, that means I’m not using as much of my face cleanser. Another money saving tip that I can’t argue with.

3. Formula 10.0.6 Best Face Forward Daily Foaming Cleanser $6

I discovered this sweet smelling face cleanser about a year ago and have bought it around five times since then. The combo of Passion fruit and Green tea are gentle enough to use everyday. So after I use the makeup remover wipes, I use a small amount of the cleanser with a washcloth to get that deep down clean.

But twice a week, because I do have sensitive/acne-prone skin and some hyperpigmentation (dark acne scarring) I put a small amount of the cleanser on to my Olay cleansing spin brush (an inexpensive alternative to the Clarisonic and just as effective), to remove any traces of makeup that I may have on my face and to exfoliate, only to reveal smoother, refreshed skin. My skin thanks me for this product that works and doesn’t break the bank.

wpid-wp-1446918756198.jpeg

4. Maybelline Fit Me Matte Foundation $6

 Okay, you know that hyperpigmentation that I mentioned earlier?  This foundation provides the perfect amount of coverage and is amazing for controlling my oily skin. Shade 330 is the color that fits my skin to a tee. At $6 a pop, it beats out most of the expensive formulas that I have tried before. When the Fit Me line first came out, I bought a bottle and quickly discovered that it was not for those with oily skin and never finished the bottle.

So when the Fit Me Matte foundation made it’s way into stores, a little skeptical, I bought it and I’m proud to say that I haven’t looked back. I’ve tried a few other inexpensive brands but always come back to this one. The perfect fit.

5. L’Oreal True Match Foundation $14

Now to me, this is the holy grail of full coverage foundation. Even with a little primer or BB cream and this mineral makeup on top, you’re going to get full coverage for any scars or breakouts you may have. I cannot even count how many times I have repurchased this product.  I’ll even have a new one on hand before the last one is finished.  It’s long lasting powder is SPF 19 which makes me feel even better about using it. It looks great and it’s protecting my skin too.

There are times when I spend a little more for specialty products, but for the most part, I like to save money and look good doing it.

Thank you for reading!

2015-11-09 13.55.50

4 thoughts on “My 5 Favorite Beauty Products…of the drugstore variety

  1. Camille says:

    Hey K!
    I have sensitive skin as well and have been scarred (no pun intended, lol) from using foundation. Have you ever experienced any breakouts from the Fit Me foundation?
    PS- Love this list, and definitely will try out the cleanser!

    Like

    • naturallykrich says:

      Hi! Oh I know what you mean about makeup breaking you out. I still have acne scarring from breakouts and currently trying to get that all the way under control. I haven’t had any problems with the fit me matte foundation. I didn’t keep the original fit me foundation that first came out because that one was not meant for oily skin. The mineral makeup might be a good alternative for you too instead of liquid foundation. Maybe with a light BB cream with salicylic acid for breakouts under. Maybelline makes one that I love. Thanks so much for taking the time to stop by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

