K. Rich in the Kitchen…how Pinteresting!

Having a day off usually means sleeping in and then catching up on laundry, getting an early jump on dinner and going to the gym. But yeah…I didn’t do any of that. Today, I decided to go through my recipe boards on Pinterest and a few Facebook videos I saved, and give a some of these tasty treats a shot.

I’ll tell you, I haven’t been known as one who normally throws down in the kitchen. Slowly but surely, I’m finding my way around.

Okay, now this recipe for Omlet Muffins has been on my mind for about a month and I’m so excited that I got to try it out today. I saw a video on Facebook on how to make them.

They are so easy to make and are delicious! Nicholas ate the few that were left, which means they were a hit!

Here’s what you’ll need:

• Eggs: however many your muffin pan will make. Or less if you don’t need that many. I made 4.

Crack eggs into a bowl and mix in these ingredients :

• 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
• 1/2 teaspoon of oil
• 1/4 cup of milk
• salt and pepper

Spray your muffin tin with a non-stick oil spray and add your favorite omlet fillings. I used green bell peppers, spinach, mushrooms, chopped bacon and added cheese on top of those fillings.

Then I poured the eggs into a big measuring cup with a beak to ensure an even pour into each muffin tin.

Pop them in the oven at 375 degrees for 20-25. When they’re done, let them cool for 5 minutes.

These omlet muffins are a good grab and go breakfast or as part your Sunday brunch. Either way, they are delicious. For a little extra kick, top them with a hot sauce or maybe even add a few chopped jalapeños into the mix.

image

Next, I wanted to make these super easy Peanut butter and Banana cookies, I threw in a teaspoon of Chia seeds and coconut flakes and what I got was a yummy little snack that satisfied my sweet tooth and it’s pretty healthy too. Perfect for a quick breakfast with my morning coffee.

Here’s what you’ll need:
• 2 bananas
• 1 cup of oats
• 2 tablespoons of PB ( I prefer crunchy over creamy, but either is good)
• 1 teaspoon of Chia seeds
• 1/4 cup of coconut flakes
• A few dashes of cinnamon

Mash up the bananas and then mix in the other ingredients. Separate and roll the pieces in your hands. Slightly flatten them into a cookie shape and place on a piece of wax paper or a greased cookie sheet.

Place them in the oven at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. Let them cool for 5 minutes and enjoy!

Some I topped with coconut and some I didn’t:
image

And now onto my Cinnamon Apple Chips…uh, apple slivers? Apple crisps! Pieces. These are baked pieces of apple. The fact that I didn’t have an apple corer meant that I got the core out in a not so graceful way making for uneven, uninformed pieces occasionally getting a nice slice out of the apples.

Nonetheless, sprinkled with cinnamon and baked at 200 degrees for 2 1/2 hours, these apple…treats are healthy and sweet. I’m happy with how they tasted and they feel and sound just like actual chips. I’ll buy a corer and try again to get those nice, beautiful slices I saw on Pinterest. Hopefully the presentation will be better next time.

image

Please let me know on here,  Instagram or Twitter if you try any of these recipes! I’d love to hear from you.

Thank you for reading!

image

Leave a Reply

