My First Perm Rod Set…I’ve been missing out!

It’s almost been 2 years since I decided to stop relaxing my hair and go back to the natural hair that I hadn’t seen in 20 years. If it weren’t for my lovely fellow naturalists from Instagram and Pinterest, I wouldn’t have know what to do with this “new” hair of mine.

So after much reading, I got my basic routine down; what products worked best for my hair, how I should apply these products, too much heat is not good; some is okay, and an old t-shirt is best for drying hair versus a towel. Got it.

But then I started seeing all of these beautiful ladies in photos and videos and they were saying they were achieving different curls by doing twist outs, flexi-rod sets and perm rod sets. So beautiful! I immediately went to YouTube and watched numerous videos on how to do this look myself. Quick flashback to my relaxer days: it looked like it was time consuming and that my arms were going to hurt after awhile.

But in a recent cleanout of one of my hall closets, I discovered a bag of perm rods, “maybe I should try a set on my hair and see how it comes out” I said to myself. I was excited to do it. I woke up early Saturday morning, washed my hair and prepared to try this perm rod set for the first time.

Below in the white shirt is my hair freshly washed with no products in it, the other is with the rods installed.

                                    20151114_110708           20151114_125142

                                          20151114_110502-1.                                           20151114_110349

I used two of my favorite hair products for this set: Cantu Shea Butter Leave-in Conditioning Repair Cream and Cantu Coconut Curling Cream.

As I thought, it took about 45 minutes to install all of the rods. And yes, my arms were getting tired.  Weeellll suck it up butter cup! I’ll take sore arms over a burning scalp from those relaxers any day!

With it being my first time, I was a little clumsy with the rods and the way I separated the rest of my hair. I’m sure I’ll get better each time that I try it. Hopefully, practice will make perfect.

After a few hours of having the rods in my hair, Nicholas and I got invited to go watch the Rousey vs. Holm fight. Did y’all see it?!? Great fight!

But um…wait my hair is not going to be dry before we have to leave! As much as I didn’t want to use heat on my hair, I went ahead and pulled out the blow dryer and set it on medium heat to speed up the process. This was still mid morning, so I figured I’d do this every couple of hours until it was time to go.

I was afraid that I was going to unroll the rods only to find a head full of limp, lifeless, wet curls. I was pleasantly surprised! After I removed the rods, I went over my hair one more time with the blow dryer and then got to separating those curls. I’m pretty happy with the results.

Below is the finished product. The next time I try, I’ll make sure I’m not going anywhere so that my hair can air dry properly and I’ll definitely post those results. I may even try a twist out or go get me a set of flexi rods, the style possibilities are endless!

20151114_181344-2             20151114_180954-1

Hope everyone’s weekend was a great one!

Thank you for reading!

naturally-k-rich

 

2 thoughts on “My First Perm Rod Set…I’ve been missing out!

  1. Charmaine says:

    That Cantu Shea Butter Leave In Conditioning Repair Cream is the truth! Congrats on your successful perm rod set. I’ve also been natural for a little over 2 years and since doing my second big chop I’m experimenting a little more with looks. Rod sets are awesome and in the right weather they can last for a good week with some refreshing. Love this look and I’ll definitely be following your blog for more!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

