Sweet with a little bit of heat: Experimenting in the kitchen

I have been wanting to post a recipe for the stir fry dish that is a favorite at my house. Nicholas is the only member of my test group, but still, he loves it.

There was only one thing holding me back: I was using a store bought stir fry sauce because I had never tried making my own.

To be honest, this blog has made me want to get in the kitchen more and experiment with ingredients, basically so that I can write about it. I would have never had the desire to make my own stir fry sauce, but today I did. And I have to say my test group and I were delighted with the outcome.

Yes, I did take to Pinterest (again, I know) for a little recipe inspiration and direction. I was looking to make something with some heat, but also just a little sweet. I knew it had to have Sriracha because it’s a mainstay in our house and it goes well on pretty much everything.

To start, I made white rice but also made brown rice for the healthier alternativewpid-img1447992281827.png

 

Then I got to chopping up all of the veggies that were in my fridge: broccoli, zucchini, yellow and green bell peppers, celery and mushrooms. But really, any vegetables would be perfect for this dish.

In a pan, I browned thin cut slices of beef bottom round steak. I did buy the meat already sliced this way because I didn’t think I could slice it this thin myself and it is a nice time saver as well. Seasoned with a little black pepper, it’s ready go into a wok with the veggies.

Oh and let’s not forget the shrimp…my favorite.  I added a bag of cooked, already de-veined shrimp to the vegetables, beef and sauce. I went with the small shrimp this time, but next time I will probably go with the medium or large ones. The small shrimp got even smaller by the time everything was done.

Okay so now the sauce. Like I mentioned before, I was really happy with how it turned out. So here are in the ingredients for this concoction of mine:

  • 2/4 cup of soy sauce
  • 3 tablespoons of Sriracha
  • 1 teaspoon of minced garlic
  • 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil
  • 1 cup of honey
  • 1/2 sliced jalapeño with the juice of the other half

Mix all together and add slowly into a wok or deep pan with the veggies, meat and shrimp. It was the perfect amount of sweet and spicy. No more bottled stir fry sauce for me.

Once the formula for the sauce was in place, the rest was easy. And Nicholas said he liked it even better than the store bought stuff. He’s not saying that just because he loves me, I promise.

Let me know if you try this or any other recipes you’ve seen here on the blog. I’d love to hear from you.

Thank you for reading!

2015-11-09 13.55.50

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

