No More Shampoo: Bentonite Clay/ACV Hair Mask

 

The last time that I told you all about the Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay, it was as a mask for my face and it has since been a staple in my skincare routine. But during many hours of watching YouTube videos, I started seeing this Bentonite clay used as a mask for the hair. Wait? What?

Known for it’s detoxifying abilities, it seems like the perfect thing to use to get rid of unwanted product build up. 

So this weekend, I decided that it was time to try it. I sectioned my hair off in 3 parts, mixed together equal parts clay and Bragg Organic Apple Cider Vinegar into a plastic bowl and stirred with a plastic spoon (wood or glass will work too, but not metal).

20160305_104606

Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay

IMG_20160305_132553

Wild hair, don’t care

20160305_110435

Sectioned off in 3 parts

 

After the mix was ready to go, I started applying to mask; starting at the scalp and working it all down to the ends. It didn’t take long to put in, which makes it all the more likely that I’ll do this again. I left it in for thirty minutes, then jumped in the shower and rinsed it out with warm water.

20160305_112047

Left in for 30 mins..reminded me of my relaxer days

 

Once all of the clay and cider was rinsed out, I used my Aussie moist conditioner and left that in my hair for about five minutes, then finger detangled and rinsed.

IMG_20160305_132321

All washed out, no products

 

Now onto styling: I spray my trusty conconction of water, aloe vera juice and almond/olive/tea tree oils all throughout my hair, my leave in conditioner mixed with coconut oil, styling cream and gel. I raked all of these products in, then going over it with my Denman brush for extra curl definition and let it air dry.

IMG_20160305_132436-1

With products in..perfect wash and go!

I could really tell a big difference in the way that my hair felt. I could tell that the mask got rid of the buildup of all the products I used throughout the week. It felt clean, but not stripped of any moisture and I felt that it brought new life into my curls.

I’ve discovered that most shampoos have harsh detergents in them and my goal is to not use anything that is harmful to my hair.

Anything that keeps my hair healthy as it continues to grow, is definitely something that I’m going to keep around. The key is finding the products that work best for your hair, because not everything will.

Thanks for stopping by, whether it’s the first time or if you’ve been here before. I always appreciate your likes and comments. Have a wonderful day!

2015-11-09 13.55.50

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “No More Shampoo: Bentonite Clay/ACV Hair Mask

Leave a Reply

