Tuesday Tunes

For my second installment of Tuesday Tunes, I’m talking Broadway. The Tony Awards were on Sunday, and let’s just say my desire to visit New York City, has done nothing but grow. Of course, one of the standouts of the year is the musical Hamilton. I know that musicals or even theater isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, but one of the great things about music is it’s ability to open one’s mind to all of the different types of art that is out there.

Hamilton is the story of Alexander Hamilton, one of America’s founding fathers. The music and lyrics are by the extremely talented Lin-Manuel Miranda and brings to life a piece of history in the most exilerating, hip-hoppiest of ways.

Now, I haven’t seen the show, but if I lived in NYC, I’d probably go broke to buy tickets for it. But after the Tony Awards, I couldn’t wait to the listen to the original cast recording on YouTube, listen below:

To buy this via iTunes, click here

 

Every time I watch or listen to a Broadway musical or play, it taps into this part of me that wishes it was a theater actress. I’ve never had the guts to audition for a high school play or anything. It’s one of my regrets.

I learned a lot, just from listening to this album, something rare in music these days. So even if musicals aren’t your thing, I believe it’s worth giving a shot.

Hope you’re all having a wonderful Tuesday !

Thank you for reading!

2015-11-09 13.55.50

 

Leave a Reply

