Thursday Tunes: BET Awards Edition

I’m a little late on this week’s Tuesday Tunes, but in an effort to maintain consistency with the blog, I figure late is better than never.

This edition is based on some of the new artists that I heard on Sunday’s BET Awards. I have to admit, I haven’t watched this particular awards show in years. But I knew that this year’s show was going to be EPIC.

First off, I was excited to see what they had in store for the tributes for my beloved Prince. Although his music will always bring me joy, I’m still saddened at the fact that he is really gone and there is even a need for a tribute.

Artists like Erykah Badu, The Roots, Bilal, Janelle Monáe, Maxwell, Jennifer Hudson and Sheila E. had superb performances, had me both dancing and crying most of the time. The show certainly did not disappoint, I think he would be proud.

I was also excited to see some artists that I have never heard before, but have since become more familiar with, with the help of YouTube. I love when I hear new artists that seem to be doing something different from the mainstream. 

So I picked these four artists to feature :

Sugar Symphony – EP by Chloe x Halle

To buy on iTunes, click here

Chloe x Halle: Sugar Symphony

 

Malibu by Anderson .Paak

To buy via iTunes, click here 

 

 

T R A P S O U L by Bryson Tiller

To buy via iTunes, click here

 

 

 

 

Free the Real (Pt. 1) – EP by Bibi Bourelly

 

Bibi Bourelly: Free the Real Pt. #1

To buy on iTunes, click here

 

These artists’ performances caught my attention with a style that is away from what is tirelessly being played on the radio. Good lyrics, good beats and instruments will never go out of style.

I hope you enjoy listening to these artists and maybe even explore more of their music.

Thank you for reading!

2015-11-09 13.55.50

 

Leave a Reply

