The Record Store is my happy place: #musicismagic

Growing up in the 80s and 90s, I know all about having a record player in the house. To this day, my dad still has hundreds of records that I love to look through when I visit him. Whether it was Van Halen, The Gap Band, Stevie Wonder, Santana, The Pointer Sisters or Billy Idol, I wanted to hear it, pull out the liner notes to see if they included the lyrics and see who they thanked for making the record possible. I devoured every one. After breaking the needle on one turntable when I was 3, he then taught me how to use it and VCR so that I wouldn’t break that too. And when I met Nicholas, he showed me some of the records that he had, but he didn’t have a record player to listen to them, so I knew that woud be the perfect Christmas gift for him. I had no idea that it was going to be a gift for me as well.

file_006-5

Rasputin Music in Fresno, Ca. 


file_007-9

Rows & Rows of records

 

file_008-6

The Wall


file_003-7

A Tribe Called Quest ‘Midnight Marauders’ I might need to go back for this one 

 

In the almost 3 years of having the record player, rummaging through record stores is one of our favorite things to do together. We have a growing collection that is a mix of new, limited edition, old and “what the hell is this? Oh, it’s a dollar? Let’s get it!”

The Amoeba Music in both San Francisco and Hollywood are the stores that made me fall back in love with having records in our home. More locally though, Rasputin Music in Fresno and Velouria Records in Visalia, allow us to peruse record crates, trying to find the perfect albums to add to our collection.

 

file_000-34

My first time at Amoeba in Hollywood


file_001-25

…and my first 2 purchases from there


file_007-10

Velouria Records in Visalia, Ca. 

Some of our collection :

file_000-33

Lana Del Rey ‘Born to Die’ one of my favorites

 

I’m proud to have these records in our home and I can’t wait to get back out there and collect more. Music is magic and there’s really nothing more comforting than knowing that no matter what type of day you’re having, music can help. Throw on a record and have a dance party. There’s no excuse not to.

 

Thank you for reading,

naturally-k-rich

Leave a Reply

