Closing out 2016…A Year of Change

It’s been a while since my last post. My mind has been in a bit of a jumble, but I finally feel like I’ve settled down. I tend to feel this more when I’m on break from work and I can sit down and organize my thoughts…

 

As per usual, this year has been another that seems to have gone by too fast. I looked back at my post from earlier in the year in which I listed my goals for 2016, and although I feel that I held up my end on most things, I didn’t get back on the fitness track like I had planned. It’s something that I struggle with (going to the gym, getting out to the garage to do home workouts) I need to do better.

Some positive changes have come my way though. About a month and half ago, I left my job of six years and started a new one. It was a change that I was both nervous and excited to make. I work as an Instructional Aide and made the switch from elementary school to high school (the high school that I went to a…few…years…ago). It has been going really well and I finally feel the enjoyment of working with kids again, something I had been missing for a while.  Change of environment has been such a morale booster.

Because of this new opportunity, I have been seriously considering getting my teaching credential through a local program that allows you to teach while working on your credential. It’s going to be a lot of work and have to jump the hurdles of a couple of exams, but I believe that I can accomplish this new goal.

Ups and downs are a part of life and I am a worrier and a stresser. I’m working on ways to deal with things in a different way, especially when I started to see that the wheels in my head that constantly turn anyway, wouldn’t even calm down when it was time to sleep. I would fall asleep easily enough but staying asleep was another thing. I’d wake up and start thinking about what I needed to get done that day, bills I needed to pay, or work. Then the anxiety of whether I was going to sleep well that night, didn’t make things better. Calming music, writing before bed, melatonin…all contributing factors for me to getting a more restful sleep.

img_4387

 

 

Nicholas always tells me not to worry about things that I cannot control. I sure do try this way of thinking. It’s difficult at times, but it’s a good philosophy to live by.

Surrounding myself with the right people, not playing into drama, and saying “No” to things that I don’t want to do, make for a stress-free life. Like I said before, lessons are easy to talk about, hard to actually put into play, but so worth it in the end.   

I turned 35 this year…

How did that even happen?

I think that because of this:

  • I am more aware of the concept of self-care. Sleep, water, exercise, laughs, music, books, good people: the perfect equation for this life of mine.
  • I’m less inclined to let things that I can’t control get the best of me.
  • I don’t want to be unhappy; if there is something that I can change, then I need to do it.

All in all, I’m happy how 2016 has been. I surely could have done without Prince, David Bowie and Gene Wilder dying, but that’s just the way of the world, I guess.

Here’s to 2017 and being a better person all around…mind, body and soul. Let me know what some of your goals for the new year are. I’d love to hear from you.
Thank you for reading,

 

naturally-k-rich

Leave a Reply

