Music is Magic: King

 

Hey y’all! Hope the day is going well for you. I’ve been trying to be productive today, because I’m on Spring Break. Some of you may know that I work at a high school, so needless to say it’s a break that not only the students look forward to, but the staff as well. I’m in the middle of writing a different post, but I just wanted to pop in with another installment of Music is Magic. My goal is to make this series a weekly thing. There.. I’ve spoke it into existence. I have to tell it so I can be held accountable.

You may have seen an Instagram post a few weeks back about a group I’m just discovering called King. I should have know about a year ago when I heard that Prince was loving this R&B trio, that I would absolutely fall in love with them too.

Their debut album, We are King, has been on repeat for a few weeks now and to me, is reminiscent of late 80’s-early 90’s R&B ala Anita Baker, Regina Belle and even Sade. It gives off these euphoric vibes that make me long for that old school music.

I was going to say that it’s shame that it’s not played on the radio, but now that I think about it, that’s probably what makes it so special.

One of my favorites is ‘The Right One’; the first track on the album.  Below you can listen to this beautiful song on YouTube (there isn’t an official music video) and if you want to purchase the album from iTunes, you can click here:

Remember, whatever is going on in your life, Music is Magic.

Thank you for reading,

naturally-k-rich

Leave a Reply

